About Us

Advisory Board

Our scientific advisory board consists of the research initiative’s spokesman, twelve scientists, and permanent guests. The members represent the subject areas of the projects funded within FEdA. Among other things, the advisory board accompanies the scientific development of the research initiative, identifies research gaps, and advises the scientific projects.

Chairman of the Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Volker Mosbrugger
Spokesman of the BMBF Research Initiative for the Conservation of Biodiversity (FEdA)

Members of the Advisory Board

Dr. Christian Böhm
Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Referat 617 – New Methods in Life Sciences; Biotechnology; Drug Development
Prof. Dr. Markus Fischer
University of Bern
Institute of Plant Sciences (IPS)
Prof. Dr. Christine Fürst
University of Halle-Wittenberg
Institute for Geosciences and Geography, Department of Sustainable Landscape Development
Prof. Dr. Bernd Hansjürgens
Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research − UFZ
Head of the Thematic Area “Environment & Society”
Dr. Thomas Jahn
ISOE – Institut for Social-Ecological Research
Focus of research „Transdisciplinary methods and concepts“
Prof. Dr. Sonja Jähnig
Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB)
Department for Ecosystem Research
Prof. Dr. Alexandra-Maria Klein
University of Freiburg
Head Chair of Professorship for Nature Conservation and Landscape Ecology
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Misof
Zoological Research Museum Alexander Koenig (ZFMK)
Prof. Dr. Irene Ring
Technische Universität Dresden
International Institute (IHI) Zittau
Prof. Dr. Josef Settele
Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research − UFZ
Department of Community Ecology
Prof. Dr. Johannes Vogel
Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin
Leibniz Institute for Evolution and Biodiversity Science
Prof. Dr. Christian Wirth
Leipzig University
Institute of Biology - Systematic Botany and Functional Biodiversity

Guests of the Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese
Senckenberg Society for Nature Research
Institute-Director of the Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre
Prof. Dr. Angelika Brandt
Senckenberg Society for Nature Research
Department Head of Marine Zoology
Dr. Mathias Boysen
Society and Innovation Department